Paul R. Stewart Museum

Managing organization
Address
51 W College St, Waynesburg, PA
Operating schedule
The museum is open to the public from 9:00 a.m. to noon every weekday during the school year, and summer hours are by arrangement. It is closed on holidays and during college recesses.
Phone number
724 852-3214
Notes
Individual or group tours are available during museum hours or can be arranged at other times by contacting the museum curator.

Founded in 1849, Waynesburg University (college) has a rich historical tradition. The University is proud to share its history and local history in the Paul R. Stewart Museum, located in the basement of Miller Hall on the main campus.

The Paul R. Stewart Museum was founded at Waynesburg College by Paul R. "Prexy" Stewart, the college's president at the time. The museum showcases Indian artifacts from all over the United States, early Monongahela Valley glassware and fine examples of the Greensboro-New Geneva pottery, fossils from regional surface locations and coal mines, rocks and minerals from all over the world, and county newspapers, letters, and records dated from 1817 to the present.