Waynesburg
Waynesburg borough is proud of its 200-year history. In 1796, the five trustees of the newly organized county of Greene purchased a tract of land named “Eden” for their new county seat of Waynesburg. They laid out a grid of streets and alleys, each 180 feet square. Like much of the early architecture, this original grid is intact today. It was incorporated as a borough on January 29, 1816.
Named for Maj. Gen. Anthony Wayne, a Revolutionary War hero, Waynesburg is awash in color, with various techniques applied to historic photos. The color invites us to consider the architectural details with a fresh eye, recognizing features regularly taken for Granted.
Walk Wayneburg's streets, look at our buildings, and think about the past, present, and future. Have fun identifying the vintage photos. Some buildings have changed quite a lot; others have not changed at all. Notice the details and marks of time. Much of the early architecture remains. Learn about the people and events that happened here. Then, gaze into the future. How can we keep the special “sense of place” that is Waynesburg?
There are memory medallions throughout the community. These medallions use a barcode reader with your smartphone to retrieve location information, video, audio, text, and images. Be on the lookout for the bronze Waynesburg Prosperous and Beautiful medallion plaques.
